Scotland Excel


All 32 local authorities in Scotland are members of Scotland Excel. They use our wide range of frameworks and take on active part in our governance:

Aberdeen City Council Logo 

Aberdeen City Council

‘Smarter Living’ is one of Aberdeen City Council’s initiatives to promote equality and well-being. With a population of almost 230,000, it is a leading user of our social care frameworks. 

 Aberdeenshire Council Logo

Aberdeenshire Council

Located in the north east of Scotland, Aberdeenshire Council serves a largely rural area with a population of around 260,000. It is a key user of our transport and environment contracts. 
 Angus Council Logo

Angus Council

Angus Council is an active user of our contracts and spends across our framework portfolio. It has headquarters in Forfar and serves a population of around 115,000. 
 Argyle and Bute Council Logo

Argyll and Bute Council

With headquarters in Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute covers the second largest local authority area of any Scottish Council. Over half of its population live in areas classified as rural. 
The City of Edinburgh Council Logo

City of Edinburgh Council

City of Edinburgh Council – the capital city of Scotland – employs approximately 15,000 people and has one of the highest spends across our framework portfolio.
Clackmannanshire Council logo

Clackmannanshire Council

Clackmannanshire Council is one of the country’s smaller councils. Located in central Scotland, it serves a population of approximately 50,000 and spends across our portfolio. 
Comhairle nan Eilean Siar (Western Isles Council Logo)

Comhairle nan Eilean Siar (Western Isles)

The Western Isles lie about 40 miles off the west coast of Scotland. With headquarters in Stornoway, Comhairle nan Eilean Siar serves a population of about 25,000.
Dumfries and Galloway Council Logo

Dumfries and Galloway Council

Dumfries and Galloway Council is located at the South West of Scotland and shares its lower border with England. It has a population of about 150,000. 
 Dundee City Council Logo

Dundee City Council 

Dundee is the fourth largest city in Scotland and home to the new V&A Museum of Design. The City Council is a key user of and participant in our fleet services.
 East Ayrshire Council Logo

East Ayrshire Council 

East Ayrshire Council oversees a mixture of urban and rural communities in south west Scotland. Its headquarters are in Kilmarnock.  

 East Dunbarton Council Logo

East Dunbartonshire Council 

East Dunbartonshire Council lies to the North East of Glasgow and has headquarters in Kirkintilloch. It works with us to spend across our framework portfolio. 

 East Lothian Council Logo

East Lothian Council 

East Lothian is located on the South East Coast of Scotland and has 43 miles of coastline. Its headquarters are in Haddington. 

 East Renfrewshire Council Logo

East Renfrewshire Council 

East Renfrewshire Council serves a population of around 90,000 living to the south of Glasgow. It plays an active role in our framework portfolio development.

 Falkirk Council Logo

Falkirk Council 

Falkirk Council has a diverse spend across our portfolio. This local authority is home to the famous Kelpies and has a population of almost 160,000.

 Fife Council Logo

Fife Council

Fife Council serves 370,300 residents, making it the third largest local authority by population. It is the fourth highest spender across our portfolio. 

 Glasgow City Council Logo

Glasgow City Council

Glasgow City Council is Scotland’s biggest Council, providing essential services to a population of over 610,000. It actively participates in our framework development. 

 Highland Council Logo

Highland Council

Highland boasts spectacular scenery and covers the largest local government area in the UK. It serves a third of Scotland’s land area comprising around 235,000 residents. 

 Inverclyde Council Logo

Inverclyde Council

Inverclyde Council is home to Ocean Terminal – one of the West Coast’s key freight ports – and spends across our framework portfolio. It has headquarters in Greenock. 

 Midlothian Council Logo

Midlothian Council

Located South of Edinburgh, Midlothian has a diverse history and spends across our portfolio. With headquarters in Dalkeith, it is one of the smallest local authority areas.

 Moray Council (Web 2017)

Moray Council

Moray is in the North East of the country with coastline on the Moray Firth. It features in the top five best Scottish rural areas and has headquarters in Elgin.

 North Ayrshire Council Logo

North Ayrshire Council

As well as covering part of the mainland on the West Coast, North Ayrshire Council also looks after three islands including Arran. Its headquarters are in Irvine.

 North Lanarkshire Council Logo

North Lanarkshire Council

North Lanarkshire Council shares a border with Glasgow and has excellent trunk road connections. It has a population of almost 340,000 and is the fifth highest spender across our frameworks. 

 Orkney Islands Council Logo

Orkney Islands Council

Video conferencing has brought Orkney greater opportunity for stronger participation in our frameworks, offsetting challenges caused by geographical remoteness. 

 Perth and Kinross Council Logo

Perth and Kinross Council

Perth and Kinross is a large and diverse area with a population of 150,000. It is a key user of our organic waste framework.

 Renfrewshire Council Logo

Renfrewshire Council

Renfrewshire Council is a close collaborator, and is heavily involved in the development of our frameworks. It provides an extensive range of services to almost 175,000 residents.

 Scottish Borders Council Logo

Scottish Borders Council

Scottish Borders Council is a key user of our Street Lighting Materials framework. It has its headquarters in Melrose and provides local government services to approximately 115,000 people. 

 Shetland Islands Council Logo

Shetland Islands Council

Made up of about 100 islands, Shetland is as close to Norway as it is to Aberdeen. Our use of video conferencing has created opportunities for stronger participation with Shetland Islands Council. 

 South Ayrshire Council Logo

South Ayrshire Council

South Ayrshire Council, which extends from Troon to Ballantrae, is a strong collaborator of Scotland Excel and is heavily involved in shaping our frameworks.

 South Lanarkshire Council Logo

South Lanarkshire Council

South Lanarkshire Council, which has headquarters in Hamilton, is the highest spender across our portfolio.

 Stirling Council Logo

Stirling Council

Stirling has a central and strategic location within Scotland and is extremely rich in heritage, including Stirling Castle. The Council works closely with Scotland Excel. 

 West Dunbartonshire Council Logo

West Dunbartonshire Council

West Dunbartonshire Council serves a population of almost 90,000 people and includes three main towns – Clydebank, Dumbarton, and Alexandria. It is a is a close collaborator and is actively involved in our contract development.

West Lothian Council Logo

West Lothian Council

West Lothian Council has its headquarters in Livingston and serves a young and fast growing population. West Lothian is a keen and strong collaborator. 





Supporting Scotland's Recovery website banner